I’ve been seeing clients on and off, now, for a number of years – and more new clients since I first began posting to this blog and spreading the word about my hypnotic consultancy. Before I do continue, though, there is something I would like to say.

It’s in the title. I am not a Guru.

A guru is a teacher. Over here, the word “guru” tends to be used loosely to describe some sort of expert, e.g. “market guru,” “HR guru,” “IT guru,” but the term gets applied to the sort of experts who end up standing up on a stage, delivering TED talks, or giving seminars to paying people with too much money to burn.

A guru, in both the original meaning and in its modern Western interpretation, is somebody who does not merely offer guidance – he leads, and others must follow. Followers are blind, and the guru shows them the Light and leads them towards it. In that sense, whether in a spiritual capacity or a more secular capacity such as being a leader in some field such as IT or motivational speaking, gurus are still leading congregations, whether they are aware of this or not.

“The teacher who accepts personally the adoration of others is merely a worshiper of his own ego. To find out whether a path is true, discriminate according to what sort of teacher is behind it, whether his actions show that he is led by God, or by his own ego. A leader who has no realization cannot show you the kingdom of God, no matter how large his following. All churches have done good, but blind belief in religious dogma keeps people spiritually ignorant and stagnant. Many times I have seen vast congregations singing God’s name, but God was as far away from their consciousness as the distant stars. No one can be saved just by attending church. The real way to freedom lies in Yoga, in scientific self-analysis, and in following one who has traversed the forest of theology and can lead you safely to God.” [The Role Of A Guru In One’s Spiritual Search]

This goes against my role. I am, as I never grow tired of saying, a consultant.

What do I do? You bring me in to do some or all of the three following tasks.

  1. Detect problems.
  2. Provide solutions.
  3. Optimise the workplace procedures / situation.

I can’t just stumble in blindly, though – I must come in with knowledge of the company’s systems, practices and procedures, and an understanding of how and why it does what it does.

Here is what happens.

The consulting process takes place in stages:- Pre-consultation, Consultation, Post-consultation and Afterservice.

1. Pre-Consultation

Here’s where you meet me, and over one or more – probably more – meetings, in semi-formal and formal environments (for the more formal pre-consultation meetings, I prefer dropping by your business premises, for instance during a weekend when you’d open up the premises and take me for a tour and a chat).

The purpose of these meetings would be to allow me to size up your situation, and allow you and I to thrash out a consultancy agreement between us. This would usually take the form of a document in which I outline what I would do, what you expect and what it would cost – among other requirements.

2. Consultancy Period

This is the longest period. It could take a week, a month, two months, even a full financial quarter – but this is the period where I come to learn the ins and outs of the company to the smallest detail.

This phase has three stages, which are:-

2.1. Discovery phase – I take the time to learn as much as possible about the company from everybody: every employee, every manager and executive, even customers and the general public. Roles, team structure, lines of communication, finances, confidential data about work satisfaction.

Nothing is secret from me, but many of these things will be a secret to you. Sorry, but that’s the way things are – you do not get to use me as an excuse to find out who likes you and who sticks your photo on a dartboard back home, or pops it into the dog basket at night for the dog to sit on.

2.2. Research phase – Here is where I do the following tasks:-

  • Find ways to develop management and supervisory skills
  • Look at methods to improve work performance and organizational communication
  • Review methods to increase employee motivation and morale
  • Find techniques to raise the company’s customer base and market segment, achieving customer loyalty and satisfaction
  • Come up with a program to coach, guide and train employees
  • Turn my advice into programs to fill the gaps between the actual situations as they stand and the desired ones

2.3. Recommendation report / presentation – This is the part where I bring it all together. This is the hardest part of the process: the bit where I tear your beloved company to pieces, showing you where you are weakest and most vulnerable: specifically, all the ways where your company is not delivering the results you want of it (which is the reason why you bring me in in the first place).

And then I present you with a program which will, if implemented, bring your company to a more satisfactory level of performance, hopefully in line with your desires.

3. Post-Consultation and Afterservice

After the presentation, it would be the worst kind of form if I just walked away and took the money, after having dumped a thick document on your lap for you to make sense out of all those fancy little boxes and charts.

During this phase, I would be available to help out if there are problems implementing your plan – or even help with implementing my plan.

Where Does The Hypnosis Come Into This?

Sometimes, when I am consulting, I could call in a group of people – a team performing particularly badly going by their personnel reviews, for example, or conversely a team that is apparently doing really well – and either bring them through a trance designed to increase their sense of team bonding and desire to work together as a team, or help them to identify the mojo which makes their team so great, with the intent of capturing that mojo and bottling it to feed to the other teams.

I also offer hypnosis before the recommendation presentation, to help you to run through what the idealised situation would be like for you – to run you through a day in the life of your perfectly optimised company.

It’s the hypnotic part which makes my consultancy unique: an ability to allow you to bring your mind to a point where you can perceive your company the way you want it, where you would be enjoying the greatest satisfaction.

And the end result of all that work is this. In the end, it would not be me who leads you into the Promised Land of Optimum Profitability and Maximised Team Cohesion.

It would be you.

And it would be you, not me, who leads because, as I have told you since the title …

I am not a guru.


Note: I have been using hypnosis as a consultancy tool for a few years, since 2011. Most of the time, I have only been using hypnosis as an adjunct to a more mundane approach to the job – but it is only since this year, 2016, that I have brought hypnosis to the forefront as a major tool, even one which is central to the unique consultancy process provided by Inductions.

 

